Surcharges are imposed by the NJMVC
Surcharges are fines assessed by New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
Surcharges are assessed in addition to any court fine or penalty.
N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35 creates the "Motor Vehicle Violations Surcharge System." The following surcharges are authorized by this Statute:
One Time Surcharges:
- If you accumulate six or more points within three years from your last posted violation, you will receive a $150 Surcharge plus $25 for each additional point.
Annual Surcharges (every year for three years):
- $100 per year ($300) - driving without a license;
- $250 per year ($750) - driving with a suspended license;
- $100 per year ($300) - failure to insure a moped;
- $250 per year ($750) - operating an uninsured vehicle;
- $1,000 per year ($3,000) - first and second DWI/DUI;
- $1,500 per year ($4,500) - third DWI/DUI (if it occurs within three years of 1st offense); and,
- $1,000 per year ($3,000) - Refusal to take breathalyzer test.
Quality and Responsive Legal Services
Law Offices of Kevin Crawford Orr • (973) 824-5520
Surcharges Cost. If you have received a ticket for a traffic violation, you want to avoid paying surcharges. By simply paying your traffic ticket, you are pleading guilty and subjecting yourself to insurance surcharges.
If you have received a traffic ticket, it is important to remember that you have options. If you fight your traffic violation in court, it could result in a favorable plea with no points or even a complete dismissal. At the Newark Law Offices of Kevin Crawford Orr, we can help. Contact Kevin C. Orr, Esq. today, for more information.